2014 Rona Jaffe Awards Ceremony

This past Thursday, I was privy to watch my good friend Danielle Jones-Pruett receive a Rona Jaffe Writers Award. The foundation and the prizes are exclusively in support of women writers. Six prizes were awarded this year to Olivia Clare, Karen Hayes, T.L. Khleif, Mara Naselli, Solmaz Sharif, and Danielle, of course. The ceremony on Thursday marked 20 years since the award has been given.

It was a wonderful event and, most important, it's the kind of award that encourages emerging writers in their pursuits. 

Like all of the recipients, Danielle has worked tirelessly on her craft, so I'm thrilled that she's getting the recognition she deserves. Her project will focus on a chemical company's lasting effects on her hometown in Alabama.

You can find some of Danielle's poems up at Apt and Cumberland River Review.

(Woo hoo! Atta girl!)


Popular Posts