Congrats to Jericho Brown!

He is a 2009 recipient of a Whiting Writing Award!

I had the great pleasure to read with him a few weeks ago at the Mass Poetry Festival. Please also won a 2009 American Book Award.

According to the Cave Canem listserv, this is the seventh year in which someone CC-related has received a Whiting:

Jericho Brown 2009

Doug Kearney 2008

Tyehimba Jess 2006

Thomas Sayers Ellis, Tracy K Smith, and John Keene 2005

A. Van Jordan 2004

Major Jackson 2003

Terrance Hayes 1999

I feel lucky and privileged to be a part of this group. Congrats again, Jericho! Couldn't have happened to a nicer person.


Jessie Carty said…
wow! i don't know everyone on that list but i love van jordan's work in particular ;)
January said…
That's great. I love Van's work, too.

Popular Posts